Negative Relationships with Food

I often will see progress with something and instantly assume that It’s complete, that i’m succeeding, or that it’s all smooth sailing from here on out.

When I start seeing positive progress in my health my thoughts are the exact same, as if I am cured with the single sign of progress.

Yeah, think again.

I came across this article the other day on cosmopolitan that talks about the signs of a negative relationship for food. Before reading it I was convinced that I had solved my issues regarding food and that none would apply to me.

Once again, wrong.

It was actually quite discouraging to see how many negative feelings I still have towards food but I tried to put it in perspective. I actually believe that my relationship towards food is comparable to that of a physical relationship with another human being.

We often classify people by referring to this as bad or good people in our lives which we also do with food.

When we get rid of negative relationships with physical people, the feelings we once had seem to stick around a lot longer than we might think sometimes. It takes a lot to “dis” love someone that was once such a large part of our lives. The same goes for my thoughts towards food.

As people should be treated equally I believe that food should be too.

[source]

Adapting to change takes time, and the acceptance that it needs to happen.

I will admit that I still struggle apparently more than i realized after reading this list, but I’m OKAY with that.

I’m not perfect, you’re not perfect, we’re all just a work in progress.

I do still worry about eating food in social settings, but I’ve become more comfortable and flexible.

I do eat food even though I know they make my body feel bad.

I do find myself stuck in a nightly routine with no ambition to change and be less introverted.

My daily diet doesn’t vary that often from day to day unless I’m travelling which I know can be improved.

The first step to making change is accepting that change needs to happen. What happens next is up to you.

You choose your path from there and personally, i’m ready to live again.

Check out the article Here 

Do you find any of these signs in your own life?

3 thoughts on “Negative Relationships with Food

  1. This article about negative relationships with food was a real eye opener.. I know that I have a negative relationship with food, but seeing it in writing was a bit eye opener.. It made me sad because I don’t want to live my life like that..But at the same time fueled my motivation to fix that relationship because I don’t want to feel like this for the rest of my life! I love your picture about a balance diet – with the brocolli and cookie! It changed my attitude towards sugary treats. When i fell into this whole clean eating trap I began to view them as bad, but after seeing this picture I realised that they are good for the soul, I like them and therefore I should not deprive myself of them! I do still find myself avoiding foods I didn’t allow myself to eat, or I try to postpone eating them, and if I do eat them I do sometimes find myself feeling guilty, but I try to push those feelings aside and remind myself that it’s good for my soul ☺ I’m learning to trust my body again, and trust that it knows what it needs and it will let me know through my cravings.. Some days are harder than others, but I am noticing an improvement and it motivates me to keep on pushing! Thank you for this post and for sharing your story with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

