Vanilla Pomegranate Pro-Nuts

I have never been a huge donut fan. I know, whats wrong with me right?

Boston creme, honey crueler, the vanilla dip.. yeah not my go to snack that’s for sure. The whole liking your fingers after every single bit because of the sugar and glaze just throws my appetite completely off.

But when you make it with a whole grain flour, add some non dairy milk and top with some fruit, now there’s something yummy. Don’t get me wrong I don’t always eat clean, heck I can’t go a day without some type of food in a package… I’m Canadian can you blame me!

Maybe if I had of been raised in France I wouldn’t have to craving for these sugary foods but it’s just so normal back home to have a diet that includes processed foods. Even the “healthy” foods that I would consume at home are much more processed than here.

I mean try buying a fresh cut block of cheese in Canada. Cracker Barrel has been my go-to cheese especially when it’s already shredded; hello convenience! And don’t get me started on veggies which I always used to buy in bags. Baby carrots are long gone from my diet, heck they’re like triple the price here as well so another reason to go for the real deal!

Anyways I’m rambling but these donuts were fast, easy and required very little effort by me, therefore a 10 in my books.

 Recipe

Serves: 4 “Pronuts”

 1/2 cup kodiak cakes

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

1 whole egg

1/3 cup almond milk

1/2 tsp baking powder

Sweetener if desired

 Topped with pomegranates

Directions:

Add all ingredients into bowl except milk and mix but be careful not to over mix! This will create tough donuts!

Slowly add in liquid until you have a batter with a slightly thicker texture than an average pancake mixture would.

Place evenly in 4 normal sized donut molds.

Bake for 20 -25 mins. Cool and enjoy!

I topped mine with yogurt thinned with almond milk + vanilla protein powder + vanilla extract and then topped with pomegrante and hemp seeds!

Leave a Reply

