Tofu isn’t just for vegetarians

How many of us actually like doing homework, am I right?

well what if your homework included trying new foods and experimenting with recipes!

Thankfully that’s exactly what mine is for the time being, and I absolutely love it. I’m stepping outside of my comfort zone and nourishing my body at the same time!

This week I wanted to challenge myself to eat more of a plant based diet, therefore not eating my daily chicken breasts. When I say daily, I seriously mean that I ate chicken religiously since being here in France, so much that my host family would buy it weekly specifically for me. I will admit there was a slight disappointment in the father’s face after he proudly brought home chicken last, Sunday and I informed him that this week I was laying off of the meat. Don’t get me wrong, I love meat, heck I’ve been eating it for 21 years and I haven’t had any issues with it but there’s nothing wrong with trying new things. For the past 8 months I have had to adapt to new surroundings, new food, and new people and it’s been nothing but positive for my overall health.

So, let’s talk about TOFU!

In the 21 years that I have been alive on this earth I had never tasted tofu before today. It’s not exactly a food that you find on a lot of typical restaurant menus, nor a grocery staple in many families kitchens unless of course you eat a vegan or vegetarian diet.

What is it? 

At first glance it looks like a block of cream cheese which throws a lot of people for a loop when they realize that it’s not actually cheese at all but a vegetarian form of protein.

It’s made by extracting soy milk from whole soybeans which is then heated to remove the whey. The leftover curds are then combined into what we know as tofu!

Why eat it? 

1. It’s cheaper than a lot of fresh meat that you can find at the market. I was shocked when I went to the organic shop and found 500 grams for 3 euros, and we all know how frugal I am so this was a steal!

2. It’s nutritional content can’t be beat! 100 grams of tofu has 8 grams of protein and is high is calcium and iron.

3. Since it’s derived from soy protein, it is said to lower the bad cholesterol in our body that you get from eating animal protein.

What can you do with it? 

The options are unless when it comes to Tofu and can be incorporated into many typical dishes in place of the meat. You can check out my collection of recipes on my pinterest board dedicated to Tofu here. 

The great thing about tofu is that you can use it in a savory dish or in a dessert such as chocolate pudding!

For my first meal including tofu I went with a simple fried quinoa and tofu salad bowl and it didn’t disappoint!

Leave a Reply

