Why you should try Spirulina today + Muffin Recipe!

When I was in Barcelona I walked everywhere, and when I mean everywhere I literally mean I saw the whole city without spending a single dime on ground transportation. That being said I came across a lot of unique shops and buildings that I would have missed if I hadn’t of taken the time to roam around.

My second day I found this small health shop that was hidden in the Gothic Quarter which I obviously had to check out. I instantly learned that the employees both spoke English, which made for a heck of a lot better experience.

I have wanted to try spirulina for a while now but it’s quite expensive in Paris so I figured I would just hold off until I went home. Surprisingly I found a bag for 9 euros at this shop and figured it was worth a try!

Upon arriving back in Paris the first place I headed was the kitchen; typical. I was a bit apprehensive of using this superfood in baking because I had heard that the taste was a bit strong but you can’t always trust the opinion of others so I gave it a try.

I’m going to be honest and admit that the taste a bit to be desired but mix it with some fruit and it masks the flavor!

What is Spriulina? 

It is a blue-green micro algae and is said to be one of the oldest life forms on the planet. It’s known as the worlds first superfood and contains the nutrients and minerals that our bodies don’t get enough of on a regular basis. You can find it in either tablet or powder form. I chose to go with the powder because I figured it would be interesting to bake with as well as add to my smoothies.

Benefits of Spriulina

First thing I noticed was a instant boost of energy. I’m a huge coffee addict but if I can get the same amount of energy plus an abundance of nutrients in a tsp of spirulina, then why wouldn’t I! This superfood is said to help endurance and reduce fatigue while also improving our immune system.

  • Contains 65-70% complete protein which we need in order for muscle growth
  • It’s full of B-12 vitamins which is especially essential for vegans and vegetarians
  • It naturally detoxes the body and helps eliminates toxins from our body

Spriulina Muffins

makes: 7 mini muffins/3-4 medium sized 

10955272_1550786678527774_422065999_n

INGREDIENTS

1. 5 tbsp coconut flour

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

1 egg

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp almond milk

2 tbsp applesauce

1 tsp sweetener of choice

 DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix dry ingredients with egg, then add in applesauce.

Slowly add in almond milk until you have a thin batter, but be sure to not allow it to become too watery or it won’t rise.

Bake for 20-25 mins in oven.

Leave a Reply

