Cauliflower Gluten Free Buns!

I hate the cold… I swear I have S.A.D. because I become a completely different person when the winter hits. I`m moody, unmotivated and am so hateful towards everything. I mean, I wouldn`t even walk the 10 mins today to the bakery to get bread.

Thankfully I have a kitchen stocked with ingredients from a very large shopping trip yesterday so I whipped up a couple of slices myself. This was my first time making essentially a savory cooked meal in a long time. I have a sweet tooth, so most of my recipes revolve around peanut butter, chocolate, pancakes.. you get the idea.

I was anxious to try something new but really want sure what so I started throwing some things together until I got a thick enough mixture and the result were two perfect (okay nothing’s perfect but they were damn close) slices of bread. Similar to a baked pancake recipe but savory I stuffed mine with whatever I could find that I was craving— beets, lettuce, a wedge of laughing cow cheese, tomato, and slices of chicken!

10932143_1385896891719328_932837533_n

Recipe for 2 rounds :

  • 1 heaping tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • dash of cumin
  • 1/4 cup steamed and cooled riced cauliflower
  • enough water for a batter consistency (1-2 tbsp)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Divide batter into two even circles on parchment paper and bake for 10-12 mins!

Take out , let cool and top with whatever you’d like! It would even make great pizza crusts

Leave a Reply

